HL7 Austria

About Us



Current Logo


Year of establishment


Number of members

130 members.

Current Chair

Stefan Sabutsch

Dr. Stefan Sabutsch has been working for ELGA GmbH since 2010. As team leader for the area "Standards & Usability", the focus of his work is on standards for documents, interoperability and terminologies in ELGA as well as questions of usability.

Dr. Sabutsch is a certified HL7 CDA specialist, and since 2007 he is the chairperson of the standardization organization HL7 Austria, since 2018 also chairperson of the DICOM user group Austria. As part of his standardization activities, he heads the Austrian Interoperability Forum.

Sabutsch has been working in medical IT since 1997, e.g. as product manager for laboratory, pathology and cardiology information systems. In 2000 he became branch manager Graz at Agfa HealthCare. From 2005 to 2010 he held a professorship for "Medical Information Systems and Databases" in the course of studies "e-Health / Health Care Engineering" at the University of Appliend Sciences Joanneum in Graz, Austria.

Stefan Sabutsch came into contact with medical IT via his dissertation on a topic of emergency medicine. Previously, his studies of biology/zoology at the Karl-Franzens-University in Graz focused on neurobiology.

Technical Lead and working groups

TC Chair: Prof. DI Alexander Mense
TC FHIR: DI Reinhard Egelkraut
TC Education: Oliver Krauss
TC CDA & Terminology: Dr. Stefan Sabutsch

Some highlights and major achievements - since establishment

Cooperation with government institutions

Yes, with ELGA - the national Electronic Health Record agency

Project Highlights

Publication of 15 CDA Implementation Guides for the national EHR
6 national V2 Standards

Events, e.g. IHIC

Plans for the future?

Publication of FHIR fhir/index Presentation of "Awards for Excellence"